Set Back

9 Nov

Clock

It doesn’t take much. It’s the little things that get me out of whack. Like a one-hour time change. I’m still not adjusted after leaving DST last weekend. Why is it I can get my body clock back on track from being in a time zone half way around the world in a few days, but adjusting that same internal clock to a one-hour change takes weeks?

The same is true for me in life. The big things seem easier to handle. An adrenaline injection comes with them that sustains me in them.

But the little things sneak up, unnoticed, like a stealthy saboteur and sink my ship before I know what happened. Little things like not sleeping well, critical remarks (made by me or directed at me), heavy traffic, being late… you get the idea. You have your own list, I’m sure.

My humanness works against me so often! However, my humanness is also my greatest asset.

Without being bound by the limits of this world I wouldn’t need God. I could handle anything, and handle it well. But my human limitations constantly remind me that I am needy and unable to get a hold of my life.

Many passages come to mind that both comfort and instruct:

  • Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you. Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour. 1 Pet 5:6-8
  • Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. Matt 11:28-29
  • Jesus speaking: “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

That’s my short list. What’s yours?

———-

READY FOR SUNDAY

My best defense is a powerful and intentional offense. Lately, especially on Sunday mornings, I wake up expecting annoyances, issues, and conflict. I anticipate these with curiosity and hope. For just like my humanness is an asset that drives me toward God, these little nasties are blessings with opportunity for glorifying God. There’s nothing like a leader who handles this kind of stuff with grace, refocusing the team toward praising God.

My offensive weapon is the Sword.

For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds. We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ… 2 Cor 10:4-5

Before serving our King, let’s sharpen our swords tonight, eager to see what He will accomplish through us tomorrow.

Please let me know what you think

