The Great Reversal

5 Oct

??????????????

My human intellect anticipates God will zig, and he zags.

This is especially true in the Gospels where we have the opportunity to see God operate in human form. Time and again he acts 180 degrees from the cultural expectation. (Take the challenge – read the Gospel of Mark and keep a list of circumstances in which Jesus defies human logic and understanding.)

One of my favorite verses in all of Scripture is Revelation 21:5 – He who was seated on the throne said, “I am making everything new!”

The entire chapter is the triumph we all long for. When I read it, I can’t help but read faster and louder. With growing excitement, I keep reading the next chapter that ends with: “Yes, I am coming soon.” Amen! Come Lord Jesus!

I long for him to come! But while I wait, I enjoy seeing the Great Reversal already in progress.

Sin and disease still have a hold on this world, but the death grip is weakening. You see it when a scientist, years away from retirement, negotiates the ravages of leukemia on his body with peace. And when a couple adopts a drug-addicted infant. And as a family moves out of a gorgeous home because dad lost his job, without bitterness, but excitement to see how God works in their lives.

There are still plenty examples of darkness, pain, and hate in this world. But, as CS Lewis described in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, winter is giving way to spring. And this from Solomon: “See! The winter is past; the rains are over and gone. Flowers appear on the earth; the season of singing has come.

The Great Reversal has begun!

———-

READY FOR SUNDAY

What if we had a controller for the universe that could rewind the situation and make it right? A young mom killed in a car accident would live; a person of color enduring racial injustice (again) would be spared; the hundreds or thousands killed by the latest natural disaster could be warned. What if we had that kind of power? Would we use it?

While we often don’t have power over life and death, we do have power over the forces of darkness. In every situation we DO have a reversal controller. We can bring light into darkness, hope into despair, mercy into injustice, and love into hate. The Great Reversal happened in my life when I understood that Christ died for me, removed my sins, and transferred me from darkness to the Kingdom of Light. That fact alone makes me want to worship him!

And now I am a Deputy in the Great Reversal taking place all around me. And this is my worship.

Please let me know what you think

