Inner Child

26 Mar
Trembling and bewildered, the women went out and fled from the tomb. They said nothing to anyone, because they were afraid.  Mark 18:8
 

The look on their faces was a magnet, drawing me in.

Giggling while sharing secrets with tender hands cupped from mouth to listener’s ear, sister and brother turned front-and-center on cue to sing about the Resurrection.

No fear.

They didn’t know any better – that they were supposed to be terrified because being on stage is scarier than death.  Instead, every ounce of their wiggly bodies belted out “It’s all because of Jesus I’m alive!”  The lack of  self- or audience-consciousness made watching the moment between these two heart-wrenchingly sweet.

The hearts of three other friends, all grown up, were painfully wrenched from their understanding.

Before the sun rose the morning after the Sabbath, Mary Magdalene, Mary the mother of James, and Salome entered the tomb where Jesus had been laid.  They came to the right place, but the scene was all wrong.  Their Lord had been crucified and entombed, but the stone was moved and his body was missing.  A man was there.  He told them to go tell the disciples and Peter that Jesus had risen.  The three women trembled (scared out of their wits – literally) and were so bewildered (confused or disoriented so that grasp on reality is lost) that they fled, shaking uncontrollably, faster than their sandal-ed feet had ever carried them.

These two scenarios collided in my mind this morning, and I wondered if children had been the first to see the angel and to hear that Jesus had risen, if their response would have been different from the women’s.

When my sons were young, they eagerly investigated what they didn’t understand.  Skipping toward a billy goat with happy curiosity, they were stunned when they got head-butted onto their bottoms, but they dusted themselves off and chased after him.  Their drive to run toward the unknown was insatiable!

Twenty centuries of hindsight is 20/20; I understand that.  It’s risk-free for me with the four Gospels lying on my lap to wish I had been the first to enter the empty tomb and talk with the angel.  (I have so many questions I’d like to ask him!)  So today I’m praying for childlike spiritual curiosity – the boldness to run toward the unknown, arms outstretched in eagerness and anticipation as my spiritual feet cover the ground of empirical knowledge in an instant.

Because at the end of my sprint, my Father waits with strong, wide-open arms, and I will launch with abandon into them.

————–

Heart-check for Sunday:

What keeps me from running toward God?  My own understanding?  Fear?  Something else?

What is the root of these things?  What would God have me do with them?

How can having childlike faith change the way I lead others?

Truth to remember

  • Perfect love casts out fear.  1 John 4:18
  • A little child shall lead them.  Isaiah 11:6
  • Unless you become like little children, you can not enter the Kingdom.  Matthew 18:3
  • The name of the Lord is a strong tower.  The righteous run to it and are safe.  Proverbs 18:10
  • The one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.  1 John 4:4
2 Responses to “Inner Child”

  1. Susannah Francis March 27, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    As I read this, I think of the beautiful song by Nicole Nordeman, “Help me Believe” where she states in the chorus:
    Help me believe ’cause I don’t want to miss any miracles
    Maybe I’d see much better by closing my eyes
    And I would shed this grown-up skin I’m in to touch an angel’s wings
    And I would be free, free, free, oh yeah
    Help me believe

    And yes, I listened to it as soon I finished typing

    • cathyhowie March 27, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

      Wonderful connection, Susannah! God bless you 🙂

Please let me know what you think

