Chocolate Delight

20 Jan
Delight yourself in the Lord,
and He will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4

What do you enjoy?  What do you enjoy so much, that you think about, yearn for, and smile when you remember your interest even when you’re otherwise occupied?  Is it a music group?  A TV show?  Fine Art?  A hobby, like writing, or painting, or scrapbooking, or model railroad building?

For me it’s chocolate.  I’m not obsessed, but I do enjoy smooth dark gold!  As a girl, I saved my pennies until I could buy a 5-cent Hershey’s candy bar at my grandfather’s drugstore.  My little hand passed by the Necco wafers meticulously lined up in their colorful legions and continued over a double row of Wrigley’s gum in search of the dark brown packaging with silver foil peeking out at both ends.  Slowly, savoring each bite as it melted in my mouth, I ate my treasure on the front step.

The purchase price gives away that many years have passed; I have learned much about chocolate since then.  Most importantly, Hershey’s is not fine chocolate.  In fact, I turned down Hershey’s Kisses this past Christmas.  My cultured chocolate sensibilities now easily discriminate between chocolate for the masses and smooth, rich European treats.  I am hopeless in a Confectionery – so many wonderful scents and flavors!  My favorite chocolates fall into two groups – expensive and Aldi.  I let others buy me the expensive varieties, while I purchase a bar a week at Aldi.  I tell everyone who loves chocolate as much as I of my source, and when I meet a fellow Aldi-chocolate fan, our words flow fast and deliciously as we share our love.

The word delight is from the Hebrew root ana(1).  The Hebrew derivative of this root is anag.  The first definition in Strong’s for anag  is “delicate, or dainty”, while the root signifies a response – “to speak, to give an answer,” or to “testify as in a trial” (1).  Combined, these definitions picture someone familiar with a subject examining its intricate and complex details.  Upon finding yet another wonderful attribute or layer of meaning, she then shares her findings with anyone – especially those with the same interest.

As worship leaders we are called to be the most dedicated pursuers of our Lord and Savior.  His being is delicately intricate.  His character is layered– an inexhaustible Source of newness and nuance that calls us to come to Him.  He calls everyone to this level of intimacy, to be sure, but without diligently seeking a deep relationship with Him, how can we lead others there?  Without hungering for His presence where we discover more of who He is, how can we have fresh excitement and energy to give an informed, true, and passionate declaration of Him?

Formulas and how-to directives don’t impress me, and yet I know that chocolatiers follow very precise procedures to create their sweet treasures.  Similarly, the study of anag suggests a recipe for worship: discovery+declaration=delight.

May we never tire of seeking our Lord and declaring His praises.  And in this, He will give us the desire of our hearts.

1 – Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament, #1648

2- Strong’s Enhanced Lexicon H#6026

Post script

Delight is mentioned three times in Psalm 37 (vs. 4, 11,and 23) and is contrasted with fret not, also used three times in the psalm (vs. 1, 7, and 8).  The beginning of delighting in the Lord is to trust him (v. 3) and to fret not.  This week I will be taking note of fretting and replacing it with delighting.  And shopping at Aldi.

Please let me know what you think

