Unchanged and not the Same

5 Apr

Highpoint wall

The chapter and verse don’t matter.

During the morning I read a friend’s sermon and planned the songs to close out the worship service later that night.

My cell vibrated just as my friend started preaching. I left the room to take the call from my son. Family trumps ministry for me. (Or maybe I should say that family is my first ministry.)

He was upbeat as he shared he didn’t have a hernia. Instead he has cancer.

We talked a little about treatment and insurance. Since he had just came from a series of medical appointments, he didn’t have many details yet. But he does have cancer.

I went back to the service and to the sermon– the same sermon but not the same.

It could have been any chapter and verse. The point is that my circumstances changed, and I was now listening to the same sermon I had read a couple of hours earlier from a different perspective.

What I found was that the Truth remained unchanged. Even though I heard it through being in a different place in life, the foundation was still solid.

Nothing about my new circumstances changes the Truth of God.

He is the same yesterday, today, and forever.

In a world where changes happen faster than anyone can comprehend, this alone is reason to worship God.

———-

READY FOR SUNDAY

Before leading a song about God’s faithfulness that night, I shared my news – not for shock effect (although people were shocked!), but to give glory to God for his unchangeable truth even in– especially in– my changed circumstances

Interestingly, the sermon text was John 17, specifically he was on verses 1-5 about giving God glory. I came back from my phone call to hear my friend say: “You have to choose to give God glory. Jesus didn’t receive glory for his own sake, but in order that the Father would be glorified. If we don’t choose to glorify God, we take God’s glory for ourselves.”

When all else is upside-down and backwards, giving God glory turns me upright. I focus on his power, not my situation, putting my sites on his unchanging Truth when life is disorienting.

Much like a lighthouse anchors every direction in a ship captain’s soul when waves have turned the ship around and tossed the compass overboard, God is steady. He is with us through the turbulence, and he is also above the chaos.

I worship him for this. And even when I am wind-whipped, I can lead others to him.

He is constant.

Alleluia!

 

3 Responses to “Unchanged and not the Same”

  1. Denise April 8, 2014 at 12:31 pm #

    Cathy, I read this Sunday and I’m still in shock; I can’t imagine what you are feeling! Please know I am praying for you!

    *Denise DiSarro* Coordinator of Curriculum Development Keynote 317-867-0400 x229 denise@keynote.org denise.disarro@cru.org http://www.keynote.org http://www.cru.org

    On Sat, Apr 5, 2014 at 10:59 AM, worship devo

    • cathyhowie April 8, 2014 at 1:52 pm #

      Thanks, Denise! Yep, a real waker-upper for sure. But God is good!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. God Never Changes | Worship Links - April 9, 2014

    […] Catherine Howie shares a powerful reminder that God is worthy of our worship regardless of our circu…: […]

Please let me know what you think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 840 other followers

