Always

25 Jan

note photoBefore cell phones, when one of us was going to be gone for a couple of days, we left little notes around the house to let the other person know we were thinking of him/her. And even though we can text now, we still scatter post-its in places we know the other will find them – in the dog food bin, under the milk in the fridge, on the laptop base. It’s fun to leave them and wonderful to find them – knowing that we are being thought of even though we are apart.

I’ve been sick for about 36 hours courtesy of a tiny virus. Most of that time I was sleeping. But when I’d wake (usually from a coughing fit) I was glad to know that God was with me. Not because I felt like I was going to cash in my chips, but just that He is here with me. That even at 2:38am when everyone else was asleep, I wasn’t alone.

I’m getting better at the “always” portions of Scripture, and what I’m finding is comfort and peace and hope. A casual reading of the verses I’m talking about might make one think they are from a harsh task-master God stuck on himself. In reality these are promises, meant to remind us that even when we aren’t aware God is with us, he is.

And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates. Deuteronomy 6:6-9

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Philippians 4:4-5

And he doesn’t ask us to do anything that he hasn’t already done.

Behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age. Matthew 28:20

———-

READY FOR SUNDAY

When I’m worshiping God all week, Sunday worship flows easily.

Replacing the natural with the supernatural. This is where I choose to live.

2 Responses to “Always”

  1. Kim Damon January 25, 2014 at 5:48 pm #

    I too spent a day sleeping/coughing due to a virus and vowed not to take my health for granted when it returned. “Replacing the natural with the supernatural.” Is a precious sentiment, well worded to remind us to focus on what’s true, right and praise worthy!
    Thank you so much for sharing!
    Kim

    • cathyhowie January 25, 2014 at 6:07 pm #

      I think it’s the season for the “yuckies”. But even there, He is with us! Hugs to you Kim, and glad you’re feeling better. <3

Please let me know what you think

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 841 other followers

